For the last 160 years the Chiemsee-Schifffahrt has been connecting people to and from the islands of Lake Chiemsee. The first Steam-boat was built out of wood and to the 14 modern and well equipped passenger boats that make the crossing today, it is incomparable. People still remember from earlier times the famous “Ludwig Feßler”, the flagship of the fleet. With the capacity of the ships combined, there are now a total of 4,000 seats available for guests.
365 days service from the ports Prien/Stock and Gstadt to Frauenchiemsee and Herrenchiemsee islands and in the summer around the whole lake.
The Benedictine abbey Frauenwörth was founded by King Ludwig the German in 860. The first abbess was his daughter Irmingard, who was beatified in 1929 and is today patron saint of Chiemgau. The gatehouse which is located in front of the abbey, is the only surviving building from the Carolingian period. The frescoes in the Chapel of St. Michael were created between 860 and 865 and have a strong Byzantine influence. The chapel’s pictures depict archangels which watch over Christ. The gatehouse was made into a school building and then later used as an exhibition hall for Chiemsee painters.
The free-standing bell tower of the minster or Campanile from the 13th or 14th Century is today one of the landmarks of Chiemgau. The Frauenwörth minster, a three-isled Romanesque basilica is worth more than just a passing mention. The church got its late Gothic looks between 1468 and 1476, while the frescoes from 1130 are among the earliest remaining examples of Romanesque mural painting in Europe. Between 1803 and 1838 the abbey was abandoned, but later the nuns ran a girls’ school on Fraueninsel. Today the abbey offers visitors peaceful retreats.
The “worldly” discoverers of the island were four young painters: Max Haushofer, Franz Trautmann and the Bomhardt brothers. In 1841 an artists’ colony was founded here. Tours around Fraueninsel with Monika Huber For art and history enthusiasts as a leisure program for excursions, celebrations and events. Tours last approx. 1 to 1 ½ hours and include a visit to the abbey church with the grave of Irmingard, the Carolingian gatehouse and an island tour taking in selected spots.
If desired, tours can also be adjusted in length to fit in with the leisure programs for celebrations, conferences and congresses, or as parts of a larger tour. Discover the unmistakable charm of Fraueninsel with its art and culture, natural beauty and warm hospitality. As an “islander” it’s my aim to give you an insight into all the hidden spots away from the tourist trail.